Review: “Google Apps Script, 2nd Ed” by James Ferreira; O’Reilly Media

http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920032557.do?sortby=publicationDateI’ve taken way longer to write this review than I intended to, but frustration kept me from getting through all of the examples in a timely manner. I struggled with code examples that didn’t work and other things that didn’t work the way the book said they would.

Granted that Google Apps Script is probably a moving target and the version I’m working with is obviously a bit different from what the author was using. I also found that my ebook reader did not properly render some of the code snippets for some reason. I switched from the .mobi format to the .epub format and that helped.

I have given up on trying to follow the code examples; I found them hard to follow the way the author is progressively building them and changing them along the way. I can not recommend this book to anyone who doesn’t have a thorough understanding of JavaScript and some experience with web development; this is not a book for beginners. I would recommend that you refer to the author’s Drive site for this book as you work through the examples (http://goo.gl/zqy3VQ).  You’ll need to open them from the site in order to copy and paste them.  If you try to download them, they will be in .json compressed format and you won’t be able to open them in Apps Script.

Reviewer’s Note:  I am a member of the O’Reilly Blogger Review program and received a free copy of “Google Apps Script, 2nd Ed” which was used to write this review.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

