A Good Year for Star Trek Fans

A geek who’s a Star Trek fan?  Shouldn’t be a huge surprise.

I recently got the opportunity to attend a showing of “Star Trek: Into Darkness” in 3D.  This is not your daddy’s Star Trek.  But if you’re willing to overlook that, it’s a great tribute to the original and a good sci-fi adventure flick in its’ own right.  Of course it’s full of scientific impossibilities and of course there are some significant departures from established Star Trek lore.  But it was fun to watch!  The 3D was very well done and added to the experience.  I hear the IMAX 3D is even better.

I’m also a longtime fan of the Star Trek Online game.  On May 21st, Cryptic launched its’ most ambitious update of the game to date: a new expansion called “Legacy of Romulus”.  Players can start out as a Starfleet Captain, a warrior from the Klingon Empire, or a Romulan Refugee trying to survive the collapse of the Romulan Star Empire after the destruction of Romulus.  I’ve played a little bit since then and I’m really liking it so far.

Another little tidbit I’ve just learned about is an Indiegogo campaign to set up an interactive Enterprise-D bridge set at the Official Star Trek Convention in Las Vegas.  This is a recreation of the bridge set used to film Star Trek: The Next Generation.  Fans will be able to see it, touch it, and even get their pictures taken in it.

If you’re like me and attending the convention is not a realistic goal, Netflix is still streaming episodes of all of the TV series for your viewing pleasure.  (I got through all of TNG and I’m still working my way through DS9 when I can).

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, Online Gaming

Leave a Reply

